This life in pictures.

Lessons Learned, and Learned Again

So I have to admit to being in a complete rut for the last few weeks. I’ve had a hard time finding much motivation or recapturing the passion in any of my ongoing projects. I really can’t say I’ve been happy about it, but sometimes that’s the way it goes.

Last night, I debated whether or not to take my photo rig with me when I ventured out into the rain bound for band practice. I knew there was a good chance of thick fog later in the evening and there was the spark of an idea for a scene in the back of my mind that would need such circumstances. In the end, my apathy won out and the camera bag and tripod stayed warm, safe and unavailable.

Most predictably, I came across the perfect mix of scene and fog on my way home later on. A thick bank of fog rolling across an abandoned parking lot studded with classic lantern style streetlamps. It was exactly what I had been hoping to come across… and my gear was safely stowed twenty minutes away. Ugh. I started a new debate of whether or not to try retrieving the camera and returning to the spot, knowing full well the fickle nature of , well… nature.

This time, I couldn’t sit back and let an opportunity slip by without chasing it. A half hour later, I was standing in a perfectly fog-less parking lot with wholly uninteresting lighting and a deep seated sense of self loathing. I stuck with it for over an hour, watching and waiting as the fog kept threatening to build back in. It never happened. I managed to make the best of the opportunity to practice some techniques that I haven’t used too often, but for the most part, it was a disappointing night.

So, what is the moral of this tale? If you’re into photography, you’ve heard this time and again and again and again and again: always have a camera with you. I know, a lot of folks can get by nowadays with the fancy smartphone in their pockets, but I’m not a member of that club. As a result, I need to make a conscious effort to either grab my pocket cam (with its limited features and perpetually dead battery) or lug along the dslr… and tripod… and extra lenses.

Anyway, here’s a keeper shot from last night:

View more of my photos on the Flickr.

One response

  1. Stay with it!

    July 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

