This life in pictures.

Falling Out Of Love With The Flickr

I’m not quite sure how it happened, really. I was such an avid poster… such an avid commenter… such an upstanding member of the community… then I just stopped. I started up again a few months later, only to fall off the Flickr wagon once again. I can’t quite put my finger on any one thing that kept me from going back one day, but I just couldn’t.

Feeding that narcissistic need to be loved and accepted in a community of peers just got so exhausting, so outright time consuming that I couldn’t bear to keep it up. It made me hate photography in the same way that photo editing has made me hate photography (but I’m working on that). I wasn’t the sort of hit and run poster, you know, the ones content to toss a half dozen photos up into the ether with no tags, no mapping, no data of any kind… no, I needed to have every box checked, every iota of info filled in. No photo was posted without assignment to the map and a minimum of 15 group entries. Descriptions, titles, submission to StumbleUpon, it all became a necessary evil in my Flickr experience. It all became too much.

I thought I had found a new way to wrangle the beast by opening up another daily photo project using my new mobile phone, which could shoot, edit and post straight to Flickr without need for the cumbersome computer. Alas, nothing is perfect in this world. Too many tees left uncrossed in this scenario. Again, I found myself spending hours rectifying my postings, hours I could have spent doing far more meaningful things, like shooting or editing or sleeping (read: avoiding editing).

So I just stopped. True, all of my work had managed to get me 1500 views on a single image, in some cases, but few of them meaningful… few of them including comments or stars or further interaction of any kind. Just bulk eyes on pages. Sort of left me feeling empty at the end of the day, really.

It’s not all bad, however. Breaking this addiction has gotten me more excited about shooting. The lack of pressure in regards to curating a Flickr account on a near daily basis has me thinking in terms of larger projects. I see the value in building a portfolio over being the guy with 800 random, disconnected images. I’m thinking of digging back into the Flickr account and pulling together collections and deleting the rest. Hard to say… seems pretty time consuming and tedious in its own right (not unlike editing). All I know is things can’t go on as they have. It’s sustainable, but mind numbingly boring, and the road is growing too long to be that bored.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: In Which I Accidentally Show Envy for the iPhone « jedwardferguson

  2. Pingback: A Rambling Diatribe in Which I Attempt to Justify Giving My Work Away for Free « jedwardferguson

Leave a Reply

